Cyprus Tightens Entry Requirements Once Again for Germany – Relaxes Those for Malta & Andorra

The Cypriot authorities in the latest risk assessment have placed Germany from orange to the red category, meaning that travellers from this country are now subject to double testing and entry requirements upon arrival.

On the previous assessment, Germany was removed from Cyprus’ safe-countries list and was added to the orange list due to high rates of Coronavirus infections detected in the country recently.

On the other hand, Malta and Andorra have been removed from the high-risk category in the new update of the risk assessment list, meaning that the entry quarantine requirement is lifted for arrivals from these two countries, reports.

The Cypriot authorities apply the traffic light system, categorising the countries as red, orange or green, depending on the degree of Coronavirus transmission risk the countries represent.

Except for Germany, other countries representing a high risk of Coronavirus transmission (red category), due to their high infection rates, are as follows:

  • EU Member States: Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Lithuania, Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden
  • Small countries: Monaco, San Marino
  • Schengen Area: Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein
  • Third countries: Azerbaijan, Egypt, Albania, Armenia, North Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, United Kingdom, Japan, Israel, Kuwait, Belarus, Lebanon, Montenegro, Moldova, Brunei, South Korea, Ukraine, Russia, Serbia

Arrivals from red category countries are obliged to provide a PCR negative test performed within 72 hours of departure and remain in quarantine until a second test is performed upon arrival, at traveller’s expenses.

>> Rules for Travelling to Cyprus From August & On

On the other hand, except Malta and Andorra being recently added to the orange category, the remaining countries representing a moderate epidemiological risk are as the following list indicates:

  • EU Member States: Austria, Greece, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Slovenia, Finland
  • Small countries: Andorra, Vatican City
  • Schengen Area: Norway
  • Third countries: Canada, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Bahrein, Saudi Arabia

Travellers from the orange category countries are obliged to present a negative PCR test result, taken within 72 hours before reaching Cyprus.

Furthermore, travellers from epidemiologically safe countries are exempted from quarantine and testing requirements. The countries on Cyprus’ green list are:

  • EU Member States: Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Czech Republic
  • Third countries: Australia, Jordan, New Zealand, Singapore

Cyprus’ epidemiological situation isn’t as stable either, with the country reporting two deaths related to Coronavirus implications in the last 24 hours. As the World Health Organisation (WHO) data further reveals, 499 have tested positive for the virus.

Since the COVID-19 outbreak, Cyprus has experienced 499 deaths, and 113,277 people were infected with the virus.

Furthermore, the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) data shows that 72.8 per cent of the Cypriot population is fully vaccinated against Coronavirus, and 77.5 per cent has been inoculated with the first shot of the vaccine.

Source link

Be the first to comment on "Cyprus Tightens Entry Requirements Once Again for Germany – Relaxes Those for Malta & Andorra"

Leave a Reply